Lpga Women Who Play Competitive Opportunities


Now in its 22nd year, the Lpga Women Who Play Championship is the largest women's amateur golf tournament of its kind with more than 2,400 members participating. With 5 flights of Stroke Play Competition and Inter-Chapter Team Scramble formats, this competitive tournament golf appeals to members of all skill levels. Qualifying starts at the local chapter then moves on to 15 district semi-finals and culminating in the exciting national two-day Finals. 

2018 Lpga Women Who Play Championship Finals 

Innisbrook Resort, Palm Harbor, FL 

OCTOBER 12-13, 2018

There are two types of tournament series - stroke play and match play. Stroke play has two categories, individual or scramble team.

Stroke Play  

Stroke Play (individual) - you play your own ball and record your score.  Here are the details for individual stroke play:

       - Open to all members

       - You must have an established handicap, with 3 scores posted in the current year.

       - Starts at local chapter level (Denver Chapter Championship tournament is July 8th at Fox Hollow Golf Course)

       - The tournament is flighted, meaning you play against others with handicaps similar to yours

       - Low gross, low net in each flight advance to semi-final with other chapters in region. The same rules apply at semi-finals, low gross and low net scores from each flight advance to national finals.

Denver stroke play participants in Oklahoma City 2014   

EWGA - Denver, COScramble Team Play -
Teams of four play the best shot location after each player hits. The details are the same as individual stroke play except:

        - The team receives a team handicap

        - The two lowest scoring scramble teams advance.  Same at semi-final - low goss/net individuals in each flight, two lowest scramble teams advance to national finals.

Semi-final stroke play is a one-day tournament and will take place on a rotating basis usually in August.  National finals is a two-day event and will take place in October at a new location each year rotating between the west and the eastern states.

Scramble winners for 2014 Denver Chapter

For more information on individual stroke play or scramble teams, contact Melanie Lunsford at Mlunsford3@me.com


This team match play event is held in two stages – six two-day regional qualifiers held in September and a national championship. Teams of eight women compete in Four Ball and Single Match Play with the top four teams from each qualifier advancing to the Finals. The 2016 Cup Finals will be announced soon.. Visit the EWGA Cup website to learn more.

Match Play

The EWGA match play series is called the EWGA Cup. It is an event like the Solheim Cup where team points are collected, and the team with the most points wins. It is a two-day event; day one is four-ball match play and day two is individual matches.  A win awards one point to your team, a tie awards a half point to each player's team.

       - Teams will each have eight players.  Chapters can have one or more teams, or can partner with other chapters to form teams. Method of team selection is determined by each chapter.  

       - Open to everyone with an established handicap (must have posted 3 scores in current year), but handicap strokes per player will be capped at 40.4.

Rocky Mountain High Match Play team 2016

Mountain High Rockers 2016